Our Pickling Party

Many hands make light work

Many hands make light work

25 pounds of cucumbers from Bountiful Baskets
25 pounds of cucumbers from Bountiful Baskets
about 3 gallons of cucumbers
about 3 gallons of cucumbers
waiting on the cucmbers
waiting on the cucmbers
ready to jar
ready to jar
the finished pickles...
the finished pickles…
On the spur of the moment, I order 25# of pickling cucumbers from the Bountiful Baskets Co-op.  When David got home with them I couldn’t believe how many I had gotten.   I called my sister-in-law to come help me can my mother’s recipe for Bread and Butter pickles.  She and my niece graciously came, and without much notice.  The slicing went quickly having 5 people working together.  We got to visit while the cucumbers were salted and iced down. Jamie, Kayla and Bethany got to swim too.  After lunch we started the pickling process and canned 24 pints of pickles.  I’m sure my bother was blessed when they brought some home to him :) 
2 thoughts on “Our Pickling Party

Leave a Reply

