Happy Birthday, Kayla!!!!!

Today is Kayla’s birthday! We celebrated yesterday (Saturday) and I made her a cake, which is pretty much what this post is about…..

Kayla loves chess (I’ll play it, but it’s gets old after you’ve been beaten one game after another) and she wanted a chess cake. Big Sissy to the rescue, now.

 “I’ll make you a chess cake!”  “On one condition.”  “Oh yeah?”  “The chess peices must be sanatized.”  “Then you’ll have to do that yourself.”  “Oh. Okay.” :P

Hey! That’s me! . . . . .

 I made the cake Friday morning. It was a milk chocolate mix, at her request. On Saturday I got out the frosting pipes and tips and made the icing. The brown frosting is chocolate frosting. It’s soooo good.

A Chess Board

I used this chess board as something to copy after. As you can tell, I did NOT get perfect squares. In fact, I think most of them are rectangles of different sizes. But, hey! I am an amature!

Fill ‘er up!

^You can see in this shot that some of the linings that I made are not even connected. The squares looked awful when just an outline. But when I filled them up they looked much better. :)

FINISHED! NOW I HAVE A SORE BACK…..

 Here is the cake completed, with the writing ‘Fourteen!’ at the bottom, complete with chess pieces and a shell outline around the bottom of the cake. I let Kayla put the chess pieces on the cake.

*drool*

 Does this not make your mouth drip?!?!?! (It’s very good, incase you’re all wondering!)

On the Board
The Birthday Girl

And here’s Kayla with the completed cake. Happy Birthday, sissy!

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Kayla!!!!!

  1. Happy birthday, dear Kayla!! We missed you at church yesterday! :)

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    Blog: http://donotgrowweary.com/blog/

    “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

  2. Happy Birthday Kayla! :)

    That’s so funny because I just got done playing a game of chess (against the computer). :)

Leave a Reply

