Vacation: Day Nine, Camp

This was my all time favorite day of our trip.  I had been longing to see the property that my parents and friends co-owned together in the Adirondack Mountains near Utica, N.Y.  When I was a small child, maybe 2 years old we began many trips per year to enjoy the solitude of this 40 acres of land.  Unfortunately, the cabin that was built over the years had been crushed by the snowfall sometime after we left N.Y. some 30 years ago.  The property was much the same and as beautiful as I remember.

Here was the focal point of the property.  The stream ran through the center of the land with the camp just 50 feet to the left.  The sound of the stream brought back wonderful memories of many summers walking up and down and cooling off there.

This picture is from the same point looking down stream past the small pond and into the woods were we played for hours on end.

Next, is the small one lane bridge you cross to get to the property.  I can’t remember the number of times we walked under the bridge and up the stream to keep ourselves busy.

I couldn’t resist stepping in one more time.  The water was freezing.

I felt very blessed to be able to share my favorite spot on earth with my children.

There were a lot of fallen leaves.  I would have loved to been able to spend the whole day.

One thought on “Vacation: Day Nine, Camp

Leave a Reply

