The Book of Joel

I read the book of Joel a couple days ago.  I had forgotten some of the great promises, and yes, of course, commands that God gives his people in this book… here’s a couple that stood out to me.

Joel 1:3   …Tell your children about it, Let your children tell their children,  And their children another generation.

Joel 1:14  …Consecrate a fast, Call a sacred assembly; Gather the elders and all the inhabitants of the land Into the house of the LORD your God…

Joel 2:12-14  …Now, therefore, says the LORD, Turn to Me with all your heart, with fasting, with weeping, and with mourning.”  So rend your heart, and not your garments;  Return to the LORD your God, For He is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and of great kindness; And He relents from doing harm.  Who know if He will turn and relent, and leave a blessing behind Him—

Joel 2: 28,29   …And it shall come to pass afterward that I will pour out My Spirit on all flesh;  your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams,  your young men shall see visions. And also on My menservants and on My maidservants I will our out My Spirit in those days.

Joel 3:9-11   …Proclaim this among the nations; Prepare for war! Wake up the mighty men, let all the men of war draw near, let them come up.  Beat your plowshares into swords and your pruning hooks into spears:  Let the weak say, “I am strong.” Assemble and come, all you nations, And gather together all around.  Cause Your mighty ones to go down there, O LORD.

Leave a Reply

