My Silent Auction Quilt

I won this unfinished 1930’s fabric small quilt top at the PAQA quilt show in April. I was thrilled with the pattern, Grandmother’s Garden, it’s one of my favorites.  There was a hole in it and it is stained in a couple places but I didn’t care. I cut it down slightly to go on my one wall and used the cut off parts to patch the hole. I then sandwiched it and hand quilted it over the last month. Here is the final piece. I also made coaster with the scraps.

IMG_1866

Below are the before pictures:

IMG_1678

I replaces a pink hexagon with a different fabric but it blends in nicely, I think.

IMG_1656

I loved it so much I immediately put it on the wall. You can see the hole here in the pink flower.

IMG_1676

This picture is kind of scary for me. It took a lot for me to cut it up and square it. If I’d had more time it would have been nice to finish it as is.

IMG_1677

Last pictures is of the sandwiching process and being ready to quilt. I didn’t frame it or anything. I just pinned it and quilted it in my lap.

Leave a Reply

